Whois Abused For Publicity?

| | Comments (2)
Whois data has been talked about quite a bit over the last few months. While there maybe valid reasons to hide who owns a domain via a proxy service of some kind outright abuse of the whois objects is a different matter. While checking a domain earlier this evening I came across the oddest whois output I'd ever seen:
Domain name: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com Registrant Contact: xxxxxxxxxxxx.Com, POWERFUL WEB HOSTING - 20GB Disc - 500GB Tr NA NA (NA) NA Fax: HOST UNLIMITED DOMAINS *FREE* 1548 N Technology Way, #D13 Orem, UT 84097 US Administrative Contact: NA INC - ONLY 6.50 PER MONTH xxxxxxxxxxxx.Com (info@xxxxxxxxxxx) xxxxxxxxx Fax: xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxx.Com, POWERFUL WEB HOSTING - 20GB Disc - 500GB Tr HOST UNLIMITED DOMAINS *FREE* Orem, UT 84097 US Technical Contact: NA INC - ONLY 6.50 PER MONTH xxxxx.Com (whois@xxxxx.com) xxxxxxxxxxx Fax: xxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxx.Com, POWERFUL WEB HOSTING - 20GB Disc - 500GB Tr HOST UNLIMITED DOMAINS *FREE* Orem, UT 84097 US
I've removed the company name from the whois output, but you get the idea. Is this even allowed under the ICANN rules?

Categories

, , ,

2 Comments

Danny Cork said:

Nope this isn't allowed. If contact information isn't correct ICANN or the registrar can make the domain available for the public. I could be wrong but I believe I complaint will kill this domain.

Danny
I contacted the registrar in question and they will be in touch with the registrant. It seems the domain was transferred from a previous registrar with that data!

Michele

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michele Neylon published on June 13, 2007 1:08 AM.

IE ccTLD Breaks 80k Barrier was the previous entry in this blog.

RegisterFly Site Finally Updates is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Powered by Movable Type 4.34-en