EU Domain Scam - Eurid Pulls Registration

|
Francesco, who works for Ascio, posted to the Eurid registrars' list yesterday about a domain scam (in German). The scam is strikingly similar to so many of those that we have seen for .com, .ie and .co.uk over the last few years. The text of the mail is below:
Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren Sie haben diese E-Mail erhalten, weil Sie der registrierte Inhaber von www.xxxxxxxxx.com sind. Im Rahmen unserer Verpflichtung, Eigentumsstreitigkeiten und Markenverluste durch Domain-Hijacking zu reduzieren, möchten wir Sie über Folgendes in Kenntnis setzen: Domain-Status: www.xxxxxxxxxxx.eu ist verfügbar. Seit dem 6. April 2006 kann jeder innerhalb der EU eine verfügbare .eu-Domain registrieren. Klicken Sie hier zum Registrieren von www.xxxxxxxxx.eu oder besuchen Sie die folgende Adresse http://www.euidregistration.eu.
I don't speak German, but the general gist of the mail is that as the recipient owns domain.com they might be interested domain.eu. And of course the mails are unsolicited .... This kind of activity is hardly good for anyone's business, so it was nice to see that Eurid pulled the domain registration this morning: Name euidregistration Status REGISTERED Registered July 3, 2007 Last update July 3, 2007 6:01 PM Registrant Name revoked domain name Organisation Eligibility criteria not met Language English You can read more details of the scam on Francesco's blog

Categories

, , , ,

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michele Neylon published on July 11, 2007 10:46 AM.

EU NameSpace is Dead? was the previous entry in this blog.

Mobi Ready Tools Upgraded is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Powered by Movable Type 4.34-en

Recent Comments