Blackberry WIPO Case

| | Comments (1)
Image representing Research In Motion as depic...

Image via CrunchBase

Research In Motion (RIM) are best known as the makers of the Blackberry. In the run up to Christmas last year there was quite a bit of interest shown in two things:
  1. The Blackberry Storm
  2. The Blackberry Application Store
Both developments were seen as RIM's attempt to regain market share against Apple and its iPhone and App store.

So it's hardly surprising to see that people would have tried to capitalise on the news via domains, namely:
bestblackberryapplications.com
bestblackberryapps.com
bestblackberrystormapps.com
blackberryapplicationstore.com
blackberryappsstore.com
blackberrystormapplications.com
blackberrystormapplicationstore.com
newblackberryapps.com
newblackberrystormapps.com

All of the above domains were subject to a WIPO UDRP ruling (D2008-1932) in RIM's favour.
The case isn't that interesting, as the other party did not attempt to defend their position.

Related articles by Zemanta
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Categories

, ,

1 Comments

RIM is very aggressive when it comes to protecting their IP... No joke!

There is a company who gets it who wants to keep their brand clean... Kudos.

BlackberryHelp.com was up for grabs over at SnapNames few weeks ago --- I'm betting it will get UDRP'd within a few month's time :)

Best,

Mike

http://www.wannadevelop.com

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michele Neylon published on February 10, 2009 9:35 AM.

ICANN Mexico Schedule Available was the previous entry in this blog.

Fatboy.ie WIPO Case is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Powered by Movable Type 4.34-en

Recent Comments